Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)

Distinguished Flying Cross Medal

This page is dedicated to the men who received the Distinguished Flying Cross while assigned to the 221st Aviation Company from 1965 to 1971.

I apologize for any errors or omissions as the records keeping for this period of time were incomplete in many instances. If you were a recipient of the Distinguished Flying Cross and your name is not listed, please provide me a copy of the citation and I will gladly add you to the list.



  • First Lieutenant Ross D. Vogt
  • Lieutenant Fredrick S. Boyd
  • Captain Gregory P. Barlow
  • Captain Robert L. Duncum
  • Major Phillip W. Gaskins
  • Captain Jack D. Ragsdale
  • Captain James A. Haas
  • Captain James C. McKee
  • Captain Kenneth K. O’Neal
  • First Lieutenant Leslie B. Sayre
  • Captain Paul E. Shafer
  • Captain Henry J. St Germain
  • Captain Bernard M. Watson
  • Captain Robert E. Langevin
  • First Lieutenant Gerald L. Borchardt
  • Captain Jimmy J. McGraw
  • Captain Alonzo J. Poindexter
  • Captain Raymond R. Rau
  • Captain Alfred F. Schwinghammer
  • Captain James E. Stone Jr.
  • Captain Gary D. Varner
  • Captain Bruce Werner
  • Captain James Kummings
  • Captain James Thompson
  • Captain Samuel C. Raines
  • Captain Paul M. Moffett
  • Captain Larry Marty
  • Captain Robert Clayton
  • Captain William Bohringer
  • Captain Richard Henry Collins
  • Captain Boyce A. Cates
  • Captain Virgil Don Loftis (2nd Award)
Posted in

Monte Caylor